Island Adventures
from $99 per adult
Signature Whale Watch and 1 more option
- Length
- 3-4 hours
- If no whales
- 50% off voucher for another Signature tour if no whale is seen; no expiry
Reports a whale sighting success rate over 97%
Orcas are seen most often April to October, and a 3 to 4 hour trip costs $99 to $199 per adult. Since January 2025, Washington law has kept boats 1,000 yards from Southern Resident orcas.
Dark months are the peak for that species, light months are the rest of its season. October is marked.
| Species | J | F | M | A | M | J | J | A | S | O | N | D |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Orca | January: not usually seen | February: not usually seen | March: not usually seen | April: in season | May: in season | June: in season | July: in season | August: in season | September: in season | October: in season | November: not usually seen | December: not usually seen |
| Humpback whale | January: not usually seen | February: not usually seen | March: not usually seen | April: not usually seen | May: in season | June: in season | July: in season | August: in season | September: in season | October: in season | November: in season | December: in season |
| Minke whale | January: not usually seen | February: not usually seen | March: not usually seen | April: not usually seen | May: in season | June: in season | July: in season | August: in season | September: in season | October: in season | November: in season | December: in season |
Peak In season
From sanjuanislandwhalewatch.com. Whales turn up outside these months too.
| Operator | What you get | From | Length | Group | Min age | Boat | If no whales | Cancellation | Book |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Signature Whale Watch |
$99 per adult |
3-4 hours |
50% off voucher for another Signature tour if no whale is seen; no expiry | Free reschedule up to 24 hours ahead; no refund within 24 hours; $5 per person cancellation fee; weather cancellations refunded | Check dates | ||||
Classic Whale Watch & Wildlife Tour from Friday Harbor |
$125 per adult |
3-4 hours (12:30 PM and 5:30 PM departures) |
1-125, varies by season |
All ages | Osprey or Sea Lion, with indoor cabin, covered outdoor areas and restroom | No whale guarantee; cites a 90% whale sighting rate June to September | Cancel 48 hours ahead for 1-4 people, 10 days for 5-9, 30 days for 10+; no-shows pay full price | Check dates | |
Adventure Whale Watch & Wildlife TourIncludes Warm suits |
$150 per person |
About 3-4 hours |
8+ | Kestrel, the smallest boat in the fleet, near water-level views, 360-degree deck, restroom | No whale guarantee; cites a 90% whale sighting rate June to September | Cancel 48 hours ahead for 1-4 people, 10 days for 5-9, 30 days for 10+; no-shows pay full price | Check dates | ||
Half-Day Whales & Wildlife TourIncludes All fees except sales tax, Conservation contribution |
$199 per person |
4 hours |
No more than 16 guests (typically 12 to 16) |
All ages; evening tours best for 12+ | Small-group boat with enclosed cabin, luxury seating, bow and stern decks and marine bathroom | Not stated | May charge the fare for cancellations within 72 hours if seats cannot be resold | Check dates | |
Full Day Whale Watch |
$199 per adult |
6-7 hours (10 AM departure, boarding from 9:40 AM) |
Limited passengers |
All ages | Island Explorer 5, 98 ft catamaran with three viewing decks and two heated cabins | Free return on a Full Day or Signature tour if no orcas are seen | Free reschedule up to 24 hours ahead; no refund within 24 hours; $5 per person cancellation fee; weather cancellations refunded | Check dates | |
Full-Day Ecosystem, Wildlife & Whales TourIncludes All fees except sales tax, Conservation contribution |
$299 per person |
6 to 8 hours |
No more than 16 guests |
Not stated | May charge the fare for cancellations within 72 hours if seats cannot be resold | Check dates | |||
Private Charters |
$2,070 per group |
3-hour minimum |
up to 40 guests at the base rate (up to 80 at higher rates) |
Odyssey, 65 ft | Not stated | Check dates | |||
Whale Watching ToursIncludes Hydrophone listening when conditions allow |
Not listed |
3 to 4 hours |
Odyssey, classic 65 ft twin-engine vessel built in 1941 (converted Navy search and rescue boat), heated cabin, two restrooms | Next trip free if no orcas are seen; rain check never expires | Full refund with 48 hours notice for groups under 15, one week for 15 or more | Check dates |
From each operator's own website, checked October 21, 2026. How we compare.
Three of the four operators here leave from Friday Harbor, on the east side of San Juan Island facing San Juan Channel. San Juan Excursions' office is at 40 Spring St., steps from the ferry landing, and Maya's Legacy also leaves downtown within walking distance of the ferry. San Juan Safaris checks guests in at 10 Front Street, Suite 102, 40 minutes before departure, with boarding from 20 minutes before. It also sails from Roche Harbor at the same prices. Maya's Legacy has a second departure from the Snug Harbor Resort marina on the island's west side.
Island Adventures sails from the mainland, at 712 Seafarer's Way in Anacortes, with Signature departures at 8 am, 10 am, 1 pm and 3 pm plus a 5 pm sunset trip. Anacortes is also where drivers catch the San Juan Islands ferry: leave I-5 at exit 230 and follow Highway 20 west for 20 miles through town. Trips go wherever the whales are, at times as far as the Canadian Gulf Islands or the east coast of Vancouver Island. San Juan Safaris says its Sea Lion can range up to 50 miles round trip and its Kestrel up to 70.
San Juan Excursions says it sees Bigg's killer whales nearly every day of its April to early October season, and gray and minke whales often. Maya's Legacy says orcas are seen most often from April to October, and humpback and minke whales from May to December. San Juan Safaris puts its peak at mid-May to mid-September and says humpback and minke numbers rise in spring and fall. Orcas keep no timetable: San Juan Excursions notes they can cover about 100 miles a day.
Southern Resident orcas are a different matter. Since January 1, 2025, Washington law has required vessels to stay 1,000 yards from them in all directions. Bigg's killer whales fall under a federal 200-yard buffer, WDFW says, and it tells boaters to treat any orca they cannot identify as a Southern Resident. Lime Kiln Point State Park's interpretive center covers both resident and transient pods. Operators also list harbor seals, sea lions, Dall's porpoise and bald eagles.
Friday Harbor is about 60 miles from the open ocean, and San Juan Excursions says its summer water is calm as a rule; it suggests Bonine or Dramamine for anyone prone to motion sickness. Maya's Legacy says the islands are sheltered from Pacific swell, with land always in view, so seasickness is seldom an issue, and its boat carries ginger candy, ginger tablets and acupressure bands. It runs in rain or shine, but not in very heavy rain, big seas or dense fog, and says the rain shadow makes cancellations rare.
Maya's Legacy warns that it is "always cooler on the water" and suggests layers, adding a heavy jacket, hat, gloves and closed-toe shoes in spring, fall and winter. San Juan Safaris stops running in December and January because of high winds and cold. Every San Juan Safaris boat has a marine restroom, and children under 2 must stay in the heated cabin or ride in a hands-free carrier. Maya's Legacy suggests morning trips for families with young children and calls evening tours best for ages 12 and up.
Island Adventures, the one Anacortes operator in this set, sells its 3 to 4 hour Signature Whale Watch from $99 booked ahead ($119 standard, children 2 to 12 from $69). Washington sales tax, a $3 ticketing fee, a $1 port fee and a possible fuel charge are extra. It reports a sighting rate over 97%, and if no whale appears you get a 50% off voucher for another Signature trip, with no expiry. Full-day trips on the 98 ft catamaran Island Explorer 5 cost $199 on select dates.
San Juan Safaris charges $125 per adult and $89 for ages 2 to 12 on its covered Classic boats, with 1 to 3 naturalists and a restroom. Kestrel, its smallest boat, costs $150 at any age. It makes no whale guarantee and cites a 90% sighting rate from June to September. San Juan Excursions sails the Odyssey, a 65 ft former Navy rescue boat built in 1941, with two naturalists and a heated cabin. Its fare is not posted, and if no whales appear the next trip is free.
Maya's Legacy caps groups at 16, with 12 to 16 aboard depending on the season, for $199 on a 4-hour half-day trip or $299 on a 6 to 8 hour full day. Those rates include every fee except sales tax, plus a conservation contribution made in your name. It does not publish a sighting guarantee, may charge the fare for cancellations within 72 hours, and arranges private charters by phone or email.
from $99 per adult
Signature Whale Watch and 1 more option
Reports a whale sighting success rate over 97%
from $125 per adult
Classic Whale Watch & Wildlife Tour from Friday Harbor and 1 more option
1-3 marine naturalists on each Classic tour
from $199 per person
Half-Day Whales & Wildlife Tour and 1 more option
Captains and marine naturalist educators on board
from $2,070 per group
Private Charters and 1 more option
Two certified marine naturalists on every cruise
Prices and policies come from each operator's own pages, read on October 21, 2026. Seasons, rules and local details come from the pages below.